To contact the UpStage team, email info [at]

To receive announcements about regular events such as the monthly open sessions, join our Announce list.

If you are a programmer and would like to get involved in the project, please email and also join our Developers’ list.

The UpStage Team

Helen Varley Jamieson: originating artist, project manager, festival architect and co-curator
Vicki Smith: originating artist, designer, workshop facilitator, festival architect and co-curator
Paul Rohrlach: lead developer, server administrator
Elisa Godoy de Castro Guerra: website and interface design
Petyr Veenstra: design and assistant developer
Gloria W.: developer
Please see the Mobilise/Demobilise website for a full list of the team involved in this project.

Past Team Members
Francesco Buonaiuto: archivist
Karla Ptacek: originating artist
Leena Saarinen: originating artist, web design
Douglas Bagnall: original software developer (v1 and v2)

Since 2006, teams of students from Auckland University of Technology have worked on UpStage for their final year assessment project. The AUT partnership was developed through Anne Philpott and has been very beneficial to the ongoing development of UpStage – thanks heaps!

Contributing students as developers:

  • AUT Team 2013
    2013 team: Lisa Helm, Nitkalya Wiriyanuparb and David Daniels

    2018-19: Hamish Maritz, Jialiang Liu and Tsz Fung Ho

  • 2018: Francis Villaflor and Max Butchard
  • 2017-18: Alex Glenn, Thong Teav and Charlie Wang
  • 2017: Joe Earley and Kit Lai
  • 2016-17: Jason Mills
  • 2016: Keenen Leyson and Minju Park
  • 2015-16: Jing (Kelvin) Han, Joshua Kartono and William Stokes
  • 2015: Siatua Uili and Alyssa Byun
  • 2014-15: Gaoxin Huang, Charlotte Peterson and Yue Li
  • 2014: James Williams, Takuma Sato, Mikhail Chen
  • 2013-14: Vanessa Henderson, Nikos Philips
  • 2013: Lisa Helm, Nitkalya Wiriyanuparb and David Daniels (pictured at right)
  • 2012-13: Scott Riddell, Gavin Chan and Craig Farrell
  • 2012: Benjamin Qin and Daniel Han
  • 2011-12: Nessa Baterina, Karena Goh and Corey Robb
  • 2011: Heath Behrens and Vibhu Patel
  • 2010-11: Mohammad Al-Timimi, JR Malonzo and Henry Goh
  • 2010: Tom Choi, Paul Rohrlach and Craig Farrell
  • 2009-10: Natasha Pullenster, Nicholas Robinson and Shaun Narayan
  • 2009: John Coleman and Vishaal Solanki
  • 2008-09: Shaun Nesbitt, Wendy Wen and Candy Yang
  • 2008: Aaron Barnett
  • 2007-08: Alan Crow and Tony Wong
  • 2007: Endre Bernhardt, Lauren Kilduff and Phillip Quinlan
  • 2006-07: Beau Hardy, Francis Palma, Lucy Chu and Wise Wang

In 2014 a team of student web developers from AUT created a new web site for the project, under the tutelage of Gisela Klette. They are: Fan Yang, Matt Jiang, Scott Bakewell and Albin Cyriac – thanks team!