To contact the UpStage team,

To receive announcements about regular events such as the monthly open sessions, join our Announce list.

If you are a programmer and would like to get involved in the project, please email and also join our Developers’ list.

The UpStage Team

Helen Varley Jamieson: originating artist, project manager, festival architect and co-curator
Vicki Smith: originating artist, designer, workshop facilitator, festival architect and co-curator
Paul Rohrlach: developer, server administrator

Past Team Members
Francesco Buonaiuto: archivist
Karla Ptacek: originating artist
Leena Saarinen: originating artist, web design
Douglas Bagnall: original software developer (v1 and v2)

Since 2006, teams of students from Auckland University of Technology have worked on UpStage for their final year assessment project. The AUT partnership is co-ordinated through lecturer Anne Philpott, and has been very beneficial to the ongoing development of UpStage – thanks a lot!

In 2014 a team of student web developers from AUT created a new web site for the project, under the tutelage of Gisela Klette. They are: Fan Yang, Matt Jiang, Scott Bakewell and Albin Cyriac. The new web site will be implemented during 2015 – watch this space!

Contributing students as developers:

  • 2015-16: Alyssa Byun, Jing (Kelvin) Han, Joshua Kartono
  • 2015: Siatua Uili and William Stokes
  • 2014-15: Gaoxin Huang, Charlotte Peterson and Yue Li
  • 2014: James Williams, Takuma Sato, Mikhail Chen
  • 2013-14: Vanessa Henderson, Nikos Philips
  • AUT Team 20132013: Lisa Helm, Nitkalya Wiriyanuparb and David Daniels (pictured at right)
  • 2012-13: Scott Riddell, Gavin Chan and Craig Farrell
  • 2012: Benjamin Qin and Daniel Han
  • 2011-12: Nessa Baterina, Karena Goh and Corey Robb
  • 2011: Heath Behrens and Vibhu Patel
  • 2010-11: Mohammad Al-Timimi, JR Malonzo and Henry Goh
  • 2010: Tom Choi, Paul Rohrlach and Craig Farrell
  • 2009-10: Natasha Pullenster, Nicholas Robinson and Shaun Narayan
  • 2009: John Coleman and Vishaal Solanki
  • 2008-09: Shaun Nesbitt, Wendy Wen and Candy Yang
  • 2008: Aaron Barnett
  • 2007-08: Alan Crow and Tony Wong
  • 2007: Endre Bernhardt, Lauren Kilduff and Phillip Quinlan
  • 2006-07: Beau Hardy, Francis Palma, Lucy Chu and Wise Wang